Canada-US Inter-Parliamentary Group


In 2010, former Senator Johnson was first elected to serve as the Senate Co-Chair of the Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group.  She was re-elected by parliamentarians from all parties in 2012 and was again re-elected in 2015.

The Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group is an Association that looks to find points of junction in national policies, start dialogue on points of discrepancy, promote exchange of information, and encourage better understanding between Canadian and American parliamentarians.

Delegates from the Parliament of Canada and the United States Congress attend annual meetings, alternating Canada and the United States. The delegates aim to identify shared principles and uncover possible solutions to a range of bilateral and multilateral issues of concern to both countries.

Canada’s international parliamentary relations are carried out in part through parliamentary associations and interparliamentary groups.

Parliamentary Associations:

Though their activities and objectives may be varied, the 12 associations to which the Parliament of Canada belongs share similar characteristics:

  • they promote the country’s interests abroad on a continuing basis;
  • operate on multilateral and bilateral levels; and
  • are composed of members of the Senate and of the House of Commons.

Members meet on a regular basis and at annual general meetings where they elect executive committees to coordinate and direct activities with their bilateral counterparts or with the international secretariats of the multilateral organizations to which they belong.

Each association has a secretary responsible for its day-to-day operations. The Association Secretary is assisted by the staff of the International and Interparliamentary Affairs Directorate who provide administrative and logistical support to association members of both Houses of Parliament.

For more information on the committee, please visit:

Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group